Pangilinan, 16 other senators file resolution denouncing Martial Law

December 9, 2009

Press Release
December 9, 2009  

Senator Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan together with 16 other senators files P.S. Resolution 1522, expressing the sense of the senate that the proclamation of Martial Law in Maguindanao is unconstitutional.

Senators who introduced the resolution are senators Aquilino Pimentel, Jr., Alan Peter Cayetano, Noynoy Aquino, Mar Roxas, Jamby Madrigal, Jinggoy Estrada, Rodolfo Biazon, Francis Ecudero, Panfilo Lacson, Loren Legarda, Manny Villar, Antonio Trillanes, Pia Cayetano, Gringo Honasan, Miriam Santiago, and Richard Gordon.

“While we concede that we may not have the numbers sufficient to revoke the Martial Law resolution, this Senate resolution 1522 still sends a strong signal to the nation that an overwhelming majority of the Senate rejects President Arroyo’s Martial Law proclamation as being contrary to law,” says Pangilinan.

“We all want justice for the victims of the Maguindanao massacre, but we should never break the law in our efforts to go after law breakers. Let it not be said that the Senate turned a blind eye when the constitution came under attack by a wayward executive branch.”

“Hindi bulag, pipi, o bingi ang Senado sa paglabag ng Malakanyang sa ating saligang batas.”