September 14, 2017
Makabayan bloc: Reps. Arlene Brosas, Carlos Isagani Zarate, Sarah Jane Elago, France Castro and Ariel Casilao. INQUIRER File Photo / Vince Nonato

We welcome the decision of the seven Makabayan bloc of partylist lawmakers in leaving the majority coalition.

When we joined the majority in the Senate in July 2016, we had hoped of working in unity with the administration, but several events that unfolded in the past months such as the Marcos burial at the Libingan ng mga Bayani, the rise in the victims of extra-judicial killings, the trumped-up charges, and detention of Senator Leila de Lima have made it untenable and unacceptable for us to continue our ties with the majority coalition.

The assumption by the Makabayan bloc of an independent role at the House of Representatives assures that the democratic processes in the chamber would be preserved, and that another group may stand as a potent, vigilant, and credible fiscalizer against the imperfections and excesses of this administration.